Real moms, real GLP-1 talk
Wegovy 7.2 mg: What the Higher-Dose Trial Found
What I found in the higher-dose Wegovy label: additional average weight loss, altered skin sensation, and questions before considering a dose change.
On this page
A higher maximum is not an automatic next step
I would not assume that the highest familiar dose is the only dose now available. There is an approved 7.2 mg version of the same injection now2, and the label says that after at least four weeks at 2.4 mg, if more weight reduction is clinically indicated, the dose can go up to a maximum of 7.2 mg once weekly1.
I read the prescribing information to compare the trial results and adverse effects. A higher maximum is an option for an appropriate adult, not an instruction to increase a prescription.
What it buys
In a 72-week trial of adults with obesity, mean weight change was −3.9% on placebo, −15.5% on 2.4 mg, and −18.8% on 7.2 mg1.
| At 72 weeks | Placebo | 2.4 mg | 7.2 mg |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight change | −3.9% | −15.5% | −18.8% |
| Lost ≥10% | 20.3% | 72% | 79.8% |
| Lost ≥15% | 7.5% | 52.3% | 63.8% |
| Lost ≥20% | 2.8% | 32.3% | 45.5% |
| Nausea | 13% | 35% | 39% |
| Vomiting | 6% | 16% | 22% |
| Hair loss | 1% | 3% | 6% |
| Altered skin sensation | 0.3% | 6% | 22% |
Tripling the dose moved the average by 3.3 percentage points — the label puts the difference from 2.4 mg at −3.3, with a confidence interval of −4.9 to −1.61. Three points. That is what triple buys on average.
The bottom row of that top section is the better argument for it. The share of people losing at least a fifth of their body weight went from about a third to nearly half. If you are someone for whom 2.4 mg produced a real but not-enough result, that is not nothing, and it is the honest case for asking.
What it charges you
I expected the cost to be nausea. Nausea barely moved — 35% to 39%.
The larger change was in altered skin sensation. Dysesthesia: 6% at 2.4 mg, 22% at 7.2 mg, less than 1% on placebo1.
The label groups it with related events of altered skin sensation — pins and needles, skin that hurts, skin that feels oversensitive, a burning feeling on the skin — and states plainly that the incidence increased with increasing dose and with drug levels in the blood1. More than one in five. That is not a footnote-level side effect.
This is the part I would discuss before considering the higher dose. Of 288 people who got it on the higher dose: 2% stopped the drug permanently, 8% paused, and 23% cut their dose. Most of the people who did something about it recovered, and the events resolved faster when something was done. But 18% had not reported recovering by the end of the trial — and the label notes that in most of those, the dose had been left unchanged1.
And of the people who recovered and then went back up to 7.2 mg — 38 of them — 17, or 45%, had it come back1.
It charges your wallet too: self-pay, the 7.2 mg dose costs more than the lower ones. I keep current numbers in my price breakdown.
The one I am still thinking about
There is a paragraph in the immunogenicity section that I have not seen anyone mention.
Over the 72 weeks, 15.4% of people on 7.2 mg developed antibodies to semaglutide, against 11.2% on 2.4 mg. Some of those antibodies cross-reacted with native GLP-1 — the hormone your own body makes. That was 36 of the 1,311 people on the higher dose, about 2.7%, against 3 of 304 on 2.4 mg, about 1.0%1.
The label's own next sentence is the honest one: the clinical consequences of antibodies that cross-react with native GLP-1 are unknown1. It also says no clinically significant effect on how the drug behaves in the body was seen, and that there is not enough evidence to characterize the effects on safety or effectiveness.
So it is not a warning. It is a blank space, and it is a slightly bigger blank space at the higher dose. I would want to know that before I tripled anything.
What I would ask, if I ask
- "Am I actually stalled, or am I impatient?" Hitting a plateau and a dose that never produced the expected benefit can raise different questions. I would ask the clinician to assess the pattern before considering a dose change.
- "What do we do if my skin starts feeling strange?" Given that 18% of participants who experienced dysesthesia did not report recovery during the trial, I would want that plan agreed in advance rather than improvised.
- "Is three points worth it for me?" For some people it plainly is. I would rather answer that on purpose than drift upward by default.
I would include hair-loss questions in the discussion if relevant, since the reported rate was higher at 7.2 mg. I would ask what benefit matters for my health, what monitoring is planned and what would prompt reassessment. I would not change a dose on my own.
Frequently asked questions
How much additional weight loss did the higher dose produce?
In the cited 72-week adult trial, mean weight change was −18.8% with 7.2 mg and −15.5% with 2.4 mg. The label reports a difference of 3.3 percentage points. A trial average is not an individual prediction.
What changed in the side-effect results?
Altered skin sensation was reported in 22% with 7.2 mg, 6% with 2.4 mg and 0.3% with placebo. Nausea was reported in 39%, 35% and 13%, respectively. These are results from the cited trial, not rates for every semaglutide product.
Did altered skin sensation always resolve?
No. Among the 288 participants who experienced it with 7.2 mg, 18% had not reported recovery by the end of the trial. That percentage concerns all affected participants in that dose group, not only those whose dose stayed unchanged. Discuss new symptoms with the prescriber.
Is 7.2 mg an automatic next step?
No. For an appropriate adult, the label allows an increase after at least four weeks at 2.4 mg if additional weight reduction is clinically indicated. A prescriber must decide; do not change the dose yourself.
Do the antibody findings establish harm?
No. The label says the clinical consequences of antibodies that cross-react with native GLP-1 are unknown. It does not establish a clinical harm from that finding.
References
- Novo Nordisk Inc. (2026). WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and tablets — Prescribing Information: section 2 Dosage and Administration (maximum 7.2 mg once weekly after at least 4 weeks at 2.4 mg), section 6.1 adverse reactions in Studies 8 and 9 (placebo N=303, 2.4 mg N=304, 7.2 mg N=1,311) including the dysesthesia narrative, section 6.2 Immunogenicity, and section 14 Table 12 results. DailyMed / FDA. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=ee06186f-2aa3-4990-a760-757579d8f77b
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs — WEGOVY, NDA 215256, Novo Nordisk (approval record for the semaglutide injection product family). U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf/index.cfm
One mom to another, not a doctor: everything here is for learning and figuring out your options, not medical advice, a diagnosis, or a plan for your body. Pregnancy planning and breastfeeding need advice for the exact medicine and formulation. Before you start, stop, or change anything, talk it through with a clinician who actually knows your history.
Continue reading
Hitting a GLP-1 Plateau: Evidence and Questions to Ask
A GLP-1 stall is normal — here's what the trial data say about why the scale flattens, the dose lever, non-scale wins, and when to call your prescriber.
ReadHair Shedding on GLP-1s: What the Evidence Supports
What Wegovy and Zepbound labels report about hair loss, why timing alone does not establish the cause, and what to discuss before buying a remedy.
ReadI Went Looking for the Wegovy-to-Zepbound Conversion Chart. There Isn't One.
Everyone searches for a dosage conversion chart. I read all three labels end to end — no conversion exists. Here is what they actually say about switching.
ReadWomen’s GLP-1 Effects: Hair, Mood and Lean Tissue
Hair thinning, mood, 'Ozempic face,' muscle loss — the women's-side effects nobody warns you about, each with real research and a when-to-call line.
ReadZepbound and Wegovy Without Insurance: Dose and Supply Costs
The manufacturer prices, starter-dose restrictions and refill deadlines I would check when comparing Wegovy and Zepbound without insurance.
ReadMissed a GLP-1 Shot? Check Wegovy and Zepbound’s Rules
Wegovy and Zepbound count missed doses differently. How to check the correct rule, avoid catch-up guesses and ask about restarting after a longer gap.
Read